“Win/Win”

Purple Hulled Peas…”



A friend of mine has a twelve year old son, who raises a garden to have a job. Ben told me: 

I just want the boy to learn how to work…”

Riggs is quite proud of his efforts on the farm. We saw a post in the “book of faces” about fresh “purple hulled peas” at the farmers market on Saturday. Granny Bug made the most amazing version of this delectable lagume, and I couldn’t contain my excitement about the idea of getting some to cook. 


I spent every summer from the time I was old enough to stay overnight, until I was old enough to insist that I wouldn’t with my grandparents. They lived only a couple of hours away, and none of them worked during the summer. My little sister and I spent countless hours on the farm shelling those amazing peas…

#memories

Leave a Reply

